Looking For A Little Patience And A Little Bit Of Help

Hi All! I am trying to learn how to effectively use Server 2008 and I am not going to school (too poor) nor do I work in the industry. I just want to learn a little bit about network administration and have chosen Server 2008 as my study tool.

All I have are two "beginners" books, which are actually catered more for the intermediate user.

Just in case anybody is reading and is looking to mentor me......here is a tidbit of info:

I currently have installed

1. Virtualbox
2. Server 2008 twice (I want to see if I can set up two servers)
3. Windows 7
4. Windows XP

My computer is running 4GB of Ram while the processing speed is at about 3Ghz. From what I understand so far.....In virtualbox, I can run server 2008 (twice) and either XP or 7 at the same time for a total of 3 virtual machines. I can do this so far with no real problems.

I want to make one virtual server (server A)with the following:
DNS, Active Directory, DHCP, IIS and WSUS

The other server (server B) I want with the following:
Hyper-V, RRAS, IIS, DNS and WDS

I want to share files from Server B.

My dilemma is the following:

I am so new to the computing world that I don't even know where to start! After 3 weeks of reading and researching I have been able to setup one server and connect a client to it, however, I used Dynamic IP addressing and I was told that it was not a good idea. I now know why, but I don't know how to setup a server statically.

If anybody out there has anytime and is willing to serve as a mentor to me.....it would be greatly appreciated! I think I found something that I really want to do. I know that it is hard breaking into the industry, but I am a real hard worker and the IT guy from my job told me that I am picking up really quick for someone who doesn't know much about computers or networking.

Would someone be willing to take on this little project with me?

Hi,