Simple Chat Web Application

• Thread starter Thread starter tomdekok
  • Start date Start date
T

tomdekok

Hi All,

I just started to learn VB .NET thought i would write an extreme simple web application so network chat becomes possible.
I am talking about a text view window, a single line text input field and a "send" button, nothing more.
Anywhere you can get the newly created webpage to chat.

The problem: All text is sent to the client webpage and not to the server, even though all source says "SERVER". And i dont know how to update the client pages whenever someone has typed some chat text either.

(This all may sound boooring, but know this, i am studying my butt off to get into VB .NET. I know how to program in C very well which helps, but this goes so slow, because nowadays there are so many components to learn. *sigh*

Questions:
Does anyone have an example project in VB .NET for web based chat?
Can anyone help me with the above client/server problem and cleint page update difficulty?

Thanks in advance!!

Ok, I just looked at the site and downloaded some sources. God i really thought this would be it. Unfortunately i am using Visual Studio .NET and the sources are all in VB6.....
I have mailed the chap to see if he can convert the source to VB .NET and hope for the best.

Web based chat can be very different to client/server chat.

If you want it relatively similar, you have to write a control to sit within the webpage that maintains a connection to a piece of server side software that handles all the actual chatting. So the only difference here between a normal chat app and a webpage chat app is that the client is in the browser.

I could tell you how to do it in VB6, but not in .NET Im afraid. What I do know, is that you use the System.Sockets class for TCP communications.

Thank for responding!