VSS General Question

irasmith

I have noticed in some of the marketing information for VSS 2500 that it is what they call project based rather than file based. I have not used VSS before and so I am a little bit confused as to the benefits of this particular claim. Could someone expond upon this a bit for me?

I have also been looking at Subversion, and Open Source product, and it apparently has a following in the VS.NET community, at least enough for someone to develop an Open Source plugin for VS.NET that permits use of Subversion from wtihin VS.NET.

So I am just curious about the differences between these two systems and would appreciate input from those of you who have used VSS. I have not ruled out using it myself, excpt that for a single developer it is a rather expensive solution to purchase. I have a MSDN Professional subscrption and at that level VSS is not included so it would be something extra I would have to purchase if I were to use it.

If you only need 1 license, Id suggest the source control system by Perforce. Its usually quite pricey but, from what I hear, quite good. Its free for up to two people - you can download it directly from them.

Ive used VSS for years without any troubles at all. Its not the best, I hope, but Ive certainly not encountered the troubles that others have talked about. Ive used it because it came free with MSDN Universal (not sure what its called now - universal is the older name I believe).

Ive heard good things about subversion as well though I cant say anything - no personal experience with that.

-ner

I believe the former MSDN Universal subscription translates now into one of several Team System products from MS. Team System I believe has its own form of source code control system. From what I gathered in reading the information on the VSS 2005 product description, it sounded as though it was to be used for non-Team System product lines.