Test Driven Development

mskeel

To me, it seems like we have a full mix of regular users of this forum: a few true experts, a handful of proficient developers (Id put myself in this group), a very healthy population of advanced beginners, and the always present n00bs.

Considering the crowd, I just wanted to raise some awareness about Test Drive Development and unit testing because it is rarely mentioned on this board. Unit tests could be the next big step for an advanced beginner on the road to proficiency or likewise for a proficient programmer on the road to becoming a true expert. I think its a great technique and worth more community/industry awareness.

Who uses TDD? How has it worked for you? Who doesnt and why not? What tools/techniques/strategies do you use to help write/run tests?

Post your war stories and questions about TDD here.

So, mskeel, which category do I fall into? I guess Im not a true expert and never will be because I program purely for hobby and have no experience in the professional aspects of programming (team programming, testing, company standards, etc.).

I sense an influx of questions from people wishing to know which bracket they are in, lol. I supposed Id probably be an advanced beginner. Though thats a pretty broad scope.

cags said:
I sense an influx of questions...
Hahaha...I think youre right. Thats ok though. My "categories" are loosely based on the Dreyfus Model of Skills Acquisition. Check out this link for a full bulleted description of each level. It is important to note that professional level development does not make one an expert.