Drawing to a panel when clicking a button?

diabolos

I apologize if this is in the wrong place; however, I need some assistance.

I am a student at ITT Tech and I had to write my own version of Conways Game Of Life program. I got it working, I used a listbox and used the words dead or alive to represent the cells. NOW, I would like to use red and green boxes in a grid that are drawn on a panel.
I have been messing with this for a roughly week now. I have a basic idea but I just cant figure out how to get the panel to REDRAW the new boxes when I click my Seed button.

If you need more information please ask, I will be glad to provide any info.

Code:
Public Class Form1

Dim seed As Double
    Dim num As Double
    Dim MAX = 52
    Dim cells1(MAX, MAX) As Boolean
    Dim cells2(MAX, MAX) As Boolean
    Dim currentRow As String

Private Sub btnSeed_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnSeed.Click
        If Not IsNumeric(txtGridSize.Text) Or Not IsNumeric(txtSeed.Text) Then
            MessageBox.Show("Please Enter a numerical value into BOTH Grid size AND Seed", "ERROR!", MessageBoxButtons.OK)
            txtGridSize.Clear()
            txtSeed.Clear()
            txtGridSize.Focus()

Else
            MAX = CInt(txtGridSize.Text)
            ReDim cells1(MAX, MAX)

Try
                seed = CInt(txtSeed.Text)
                Randomize(seed)
            Catch ex As Exception
                MessageBox.Show("An exception occurred:" & vbCrLf & ex.Message & " : Please enter a number between -2,147,483,648 and 2,147,483,647", "Uh Oh!", MessageBoxButtons.AbortRetryIgnore, MessageBoxIcon.Error)
            End Try

this will start the loop for populating the cells randomly
            For X = 0 To MAX
                For Y = 0 To MAX
                    num = Rnd()
                    If (num <= 0.5) Then
                        cells1(X, Y) = False
                    Else
                        cells1(X, Y) = True