Visual Studio ASP.NET Active Directory Federation Services Authentication - sample project

• Thread starter Thread starter Shane_Walker
  • Start date Start date
S

Shane_Walker

Hello,

First of all, I'm not sure if this fits in here...

Some background information:

• I'm a newbie in web development, so please be gentle ;)
  • I want to create a ASP.NET application using Active Directory authentication
  • The webapp should be accessible internally and externally
  • The user should log in with his / her AD-User
  • I'm trying to get the VS-created sample webapp running
  • The webapp should not use Azure
  • I'm running VS2017 Community

As far as I understand the authentication methods, "Windows authentication" is not suitable for non-intranet applications...
"Individual User Accounts" are not authenticated by the AD...? Then theres's "Work and School Accounts" left...

Alright. To create a Project I need to type in the FederationMetadata.xml path.

(I wanted to add a picture here, but I'm not verifyed yet^^)

So I went and created a single VM running AD Services and AD FS Services... I've created a Self Signed Cert and added it during the configuration... I now can access the the FederationMetadata.xml from my machine running VS2017...

Ok, after that I successfully created the Project and tired to run it... (I did not change anything!)

I'm getting the following error:

(I wanted to add a picture here, but I'm not verifyed yet)

The following errors occurred while attempting to load the app.
- No assembly found containing an OwinStartupAttribute.
- No assembly found containing a Startup or [AssemblyName].Startup class.
To disable OWIN startup discovery, add the appSetting owin:AutomaticAppStartup with a value of "false" in your web.config.
To specify the OWIN startup Assembly, Class, or Method, add the appSetting owin:AppStartup with the fully qualified startup class or configuration method name in your web.config.