How can I save persistent user settings without using My.Settings (or a text file)?

• Thread starter Thread starter ShannonM42
  • Start date Start date
S

ShannonM42

Hello,

I'm looking for ideas on how to save a "default" file without using My.Settings. The specifics are as follows:

Me: I'm a beginner/intermediate user who has used VB on and off since it first came out (and lots of other BASIC programs before that). But it's always been a hobby at best, never a job, and completely self taught so there are lots of gaps in my knowledge.

The project: I'm writing a Windows Forms App with VS2019 to be used on Windows computers by only a handful of people. The users want a standalone exe (no installer, they already have the .NET framework) that will read through thousands of files which are of one specific type. These files have headers that contain keywords with info about the file. My application will let the users chose which keyword/value pairs they want to export to a CSV file so it can be read in to Excel and sorted any way they want. The users do NOT want the app to create additional folders anywhere else on their system but it's OK if the exe needs or creates additional files in the root directory of the exe.

What persistent user info I need to save: The user needs the ability to save a list of keywords for export, two paths to directories, and a few other strings. Things like the form's position, fonts, etc are not required but it would be great if I could save those, too.